5th International Congress on Traditional Asian Medicine

Halle (Saale), 18.-24. August 2002

The 5TH INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS ON TRADITIONAL ASIAN MEDICINE (ICTAM) took place in Halle (Saale), Germany from August 18 to 24, 2002. The basic theme of the congress was "Tradition and Innovation", its official languages German and English.

The INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF TRADITIONAL ASIAN MEDICINE (IASTAM) furthers not only the study of the various Asian medical systems, but also the dialogue between them and their interaction, in the fields of both scholarly research and practice. In this, the ICTAM plays a major role. As an international forum for the exchange of ideas not only between scholars from various disciplines, but also between researchers, practitioners and entrepreneurs, as well as administrators and politicians in the realm of traditional Asian medical systems, it has nothing comparable.

This ICTAM was part of the celebrations marking the five hundredth anniversary of the founding of the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg. The cities of Halle and Wittenberg, harbouring the twin campuses, are not only situated in a part of Germany steeped in history and famous as the point of origination of the Reformation initiated by Martin Luther, but also look back upon long and illustrious histories of their own, not the least as centres of learning and of the German Enlightenment. But even apart from this, Halle, on the river Saale, is a city well worth a visit. It offers lodging at reasonable rates and is easily accessible by road, rail and air; its airport is shared with the nearby city of Leipzig and connected with several national and international hubs. The nearest other major German cities, Berlin, Dresden and Hanover, are only about two hours removed by road or rail.

1979 Canberra
1984 Surabaya
1990 Bombay
1994 Tokyo

Prof.Dr. Wolfgang Böhmer
Minister-President of the State of Sachsen-Anhalt

Prof. Dr. Rahul Peter Das

Honorary Committee:
Prof. Dr. Wilfried Greksch
Rector, Martin-Luther-Universität Halle–Wittenberg
Ingrid Häußler
Lady Mayor, Halle
Prof.Dr. Jan-Hendrik Olbertz
Minister of Culture, Sachsen-Anhalt
Prof. Dr. Benno Parthier
President, Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina

Local Advisors:
Prof. Dr. Dr. Gunnar Berg
Prof. Dr. Johann Bischoff
Prof. Dr. Thomas Bremer
Pro-Rector, MLU
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang C. Marsch
Dr. Martin Hecht
Chancellor, MLU
Prof. em. Dr. Johannes Mehlig
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Meiser
Prof. Dr. Josef N. Neumann
Christian Siegel

IASTAM Advisory Board:
Prof. Dr. Joseph S. Alter
Pittsburgh, PA
Dr. Narendra S. Bhatt
Dr. Waltraud Ernst
Prof. Dr. Charles Leslie
Bloomington, IN
Dr. Ming Zhu
Prof. Dr. Dr. Paul U. Unschuld
Dr. Dominik Wujastyk